12 Books with Great Last Lines

In one of our recent blogs, 8 Weird Bookworm Habits, I admitted to reading the last line of a book after only reading the first few sentence, paragraphs, or chapters. I admit it, that’s odd. And yes, it could potentially spoil the book for me. However, my curiosity is excruciating and I just can’t leave it alone. I. MUST. READ. IT.

Anyways, in the spirit of last lines and my LOVE for them, I thought I would share some of my absolute favourites. No, I didn’t just pluck these out of thin air. I’m only going to include books I’ve read on this list. If I haven’t read it, I won’t include it even if I know a book has a famous last line.


“After all, tomorrow is another day.”
Catcher in the rye
โ€œItโ€™s funny. Donโ€™t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.โ€
Are you there, god? It's me, Margaret?
“Thank you God. Thanks an awful lot…”
“It is a far, better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.”
the house on the cerulean sea
“Sometimes, he thought to himself in a house in a cerulean sea, you are able to choose the life you wanted. And if you were of the lucky sort, sometimes that life chose you back.”
normal people
“You should go, she says. I’ll always be here. You know that.”
song of achilles
“Their hands meet, and light spills in a flood like a hundred golden urns pouring out of the sun.”
the midnight library
“Nora smiled as she stared at all the pieces she still had left to play, thinking about her next move.”
call me by your name
“If you remember everything, I wanted to say, and if you are really like me, then before you leave tomorrow, or when you’re just ready to shut the door of the taxi and have already said goodbye to everyone else and there’s not a thing left to say in this life, then, just this once, turn to me, even in jest, or as an afterthought, which would have meant everything to me when we were together, and, as you did back then, look me in the face, hold my gaze, and call me by your name.”
“He reached for her and saw her smile and the voices melted into a single word from God: Home.
If I stay
“It’s the first time today I can truly hear him. ‘Mia?’ he asks.”
“Wounds heal. Love lasts. We remain.”

What are some of your favourite last lines to books?

samantha

Instagram ๐Ÿ“š Pinterest๐Ÿ“š TikTok ๐Ÿ“š Likewise

RELATED POSTS

Published by Samantha (Bibliomavens)

With a degree in English and Philosophy, a diploma in Public Relations, and a certificate in Publishing, you could say I like to collect expensive pieces of paper. Whatever my reason, I use my love of words to finesse a brandโ€™s unique brand story. Throughout my time writing for a variety of industries (financial, post-secondary, non-profit, hospitality, real estate, business services, publishing, etc.), I gained experience writing content for a number of mediums that include, but are not limited to, brochures, social media content, website, digital and print ads, press releases, media advisories, presentations, blogs, and so on. Essentially, if it involves letters, I'm your gal. (Ok, I realize math and science involve letters, too. Just go with it.) Fun facts for kicks: a voracious reader (seems fitting), competitive board game player (cracks knuckles), champion retail sale finder (waves to the cheering crowd), a knight of the random facts round table (not useful for a zombie apocalypse), television and movie addict (pass the popcorn), and advocate for the oxford comma (take note).

4 thoughts on “12 Books with Great Last Lines

Leave a comment